February 28, 2019

Calling for Members – Young Audience Jury for the European Film Academy Awards

European Film Academy Young Audience Award 2019 – Youth Jury

A sister organisation of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards, the European Film Awards honour the greatest achievements in European cinema. One of the awards presented is the European Film Academy Young Audience Award.

Three films will be nominated, following the Berlin Film Festival, as finalists in this category and will be simultaneously presented in noncommercial closed jury screenings on Sunday, 5th May 2019, through 40+ cities across Europe and for the second time, Brisbane, representing Australia.

Australian Teachers of Media Queensland is calling for teachers to nominate students to be a part of the EFA Young Audience Jury that will view the three nominated films and vote for a winner.

Students will be required to attend the screenings, workshops and voting ceremony on May 5th, 2019 at Griffith Film School, Southbank from 8am to 6pm. Registered teachers from ATOMQ, as well as the APSA team from Brisbane Marketing, will be on site to provide supervision on the day.

Members of the Young Audience Jury must:
> be currently enrolled in Years 9 or 10;
> have an appreciation for non-Hollywood and foreign language films;
> have demonstrated the capacity to articulate analytical and evaluative responses to moving-image media in both written and oral formats;
> have a discerning understanding of the key concepts of languages and representations;
> and attend an educational institution that has a current (individual or institution) ATOMQ membership (signup here if not a current member)

How to apply:

Students complete the Online Application Form – possibly as an in-class learning experience - using a written response to unseen stimulus to check for understanding of key concepts.

Link to the Online Application Form:

The application form involves a viewing of a clip from APSA-nominated 'Village Rockstars.'

ATOMQ will use these responses to select a jury of 40 students. Teachers will be informed of selected students via email in early March and provided with an information pack on the nominated films.

Entries close at midnight, Wednesday 3rd April (Term 1 Week 10).